Creative Card Craft

Every year I make my own cards to send to family and friends during the holidays. This year, I spent Christmas with my mom in Florida and didn’t have access to all my craft supplies, so I had to improvise. I dug through the old toy drawers in “the kids’ room” where my children slept every time we came down to visit when they were growing up. Amongst the legos and puzzles and Polly Pocket dolls, I found some craft supplies. There was an old Crayola watercolor paint set, drawing paper, crayons, Sharpie markers, glue sticks, and several coloring books. I knew I could use some of these things to create something! I was also able to dig up some card stock in my mom’s desk and an old paper grocery bag in the recycle bin. I was all set.

Now I just needed an idea. After some thought, I remembered something I had seen on Instagram…a woman painted these cute snow globes, and I decided they would make cute cards! I gathered all my supplies and went to work.

 

First, I traced a small funnel to create the snow globe circle shape, and traced along one side to create an arc that I could turn into the snow globe base.

Next, I painted the circles with water and then went over them with the blue color in the Crayola paint set. While they dried, I painted wide red arc shapes that would become the bases.

Once the blue dried, I used green to create a pine tree on one side of each circle. I went over them several times with the different greens in the paint set to add detail.

Now for the snowmen. It took many layers of white watercolor paint to get them to stand out. Because I was using watercolors, there was a cool effect where the snowmen got a watery blue shadow around them. Since the snowmen were supposed to be in snow globes, I kind of like it. It was also fun because no two were the same.

Once the snowmen were dry, I used the orange and red paints along with a Sharpie to decorate each snowman with eyes, nose, buttons and a scarf.

To finish them off, I decided to spatter the white paint over each circle to look like the snow in the snow globe. Slight problem…the white water color paint didn’t really show up and only made little water spots that didn’t look at all like snow. I dug through drawers again hoping for white craft paint, but no luck. Determined to be resourceful, I continued searching until I came upon a bottle of White Out. I needed to add water to it to make it a bit thinner, but it worked perfectly.

I let everything dry and then I cut out all the circles and bases. I decided to glue them onto rectangles cut out of the brown paper bag. Finally, I glued them onto pieces of card stock folded in half.

Voila…perfect holiday thank you cards!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *