New School Year, New Hobby!

As my daughter’s 13th birthday was getting near and the summer was drawing to a close, I found myself surfing the web (actually Etsy to be exact) looking for birthday present ideas. As much as she is into fashion and style and trends, her mother is not. Anything monogram seems to be cool to her and her friends, so that was a start. Etsy had some cool bracelets, but alas, time management is another skill where we differ. I didn’t leave myself much more than expedited shipping time, let alone the processing time necessary to have a monogrammed item made. A beautiful bangle bracelet did catch my eye, and the more I looked the more I thought, “I wonder if I could make something like that?” A little more research and I found the answer. Yes! I could! I have now begun my obsession with resin. There are many products out there that all involve mixing ratios of epoxy liquid with hardening liquid to encase pictures and objects both in pre-made jewelry settings and by themselves. There have been bumps in the road including air bubbles, overflow, dog hair and re-sizing pictures, but I am persevering! I have managed to create a handful of pieces that I really like, and one pendant that I love and gave to Senora Almodovar to celebrate her 10th year at DA (my son and her son were classmates in Mr. Mason’s first Mustang class!). I have many ideas for more pendants, earrings, key chains and even hairpins that I have yet to try. I did make my daughter a monogram bracelet, and we went on to make one for her friend. Tune in to see what I come up with next!

The monogram bracelet I made for my daughter as well as one for her friend!

The monogram bracelet I made for my daughter as well as one for her friend!

Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 2.58.05 PM

The first bracelet I made for myself.

IMG_1286

Some pendants I made from pictures that I shrink down,cut out, and put into pendant settings.

IMG_1289

A picture of graffiti I took on a trip to Europe. I just cut it out, encased it in resin and drill a hole in it to make a pendant.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *